I have little to no experience with firearms. Where do I start?
We recommend beginning with a 2-hour private lesson or the Beginner / Refresher CCW Package. Our students usually make rapid progress with one-on-one instruction.
What is the minimum age requirement?
The minimum age to apply for a Nevada Concealed Carry permit is 21, so students in our concealed carry course must be age 20 or older, as applicants must apply within one year of taking the course. The only exception is for active duty military or veterans age 18-20.
For all other courses, a parent or guardian must accompany any children under the age of 18. We ask you, the parent, “Do you feel comfortable with the child next to you using a loaded firearm?”
Do you offer classes for "Women Only?"
No, the lessons and techniques we teach apply to everyone. Usually female students account for 40% to 60% of every class.
How big are the classes?
Class size usually ranges from 10 to 30 students.
What happens if I sign up for a class but cannot make it?
All payments are nonrefundable. Payments may be applied to a future course that suits your schedule, at the sole discretion of The Gun School.
What happens if I sign up for a private lesson but cannot make it?
All payments are nonrefundable. Private lessons can be rescheduled, with a $60.00 change fee, up to 24 hours prior to the lesson. If cancellation occurs within 24 hours, rescheduling is not permitted.
How much are the state application fees for a concealed carry permit?
As of May 2022, the state fee for a new application is $100.25. Fee for a renewal application is $65.25. Fee for a late renewal (up to 364 days) is $80.25. These fees are charged by the state of Nevada and are in addition to the cost of your course at The Gun School.
A complete list of state fees and more information is available at this link: Concealed Firearm Permits (lvmpd.com)
Where can I download the paper Concealed Firearm Permit Application?
The paper application can be downloaded from Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department at this link: CCW Paper Application – Fillable PDF (lvmpd.com)
Please note that you will need to appear in person at the LVMPD Records & Fingerprint Bureau, 400 S Martin Luther King Blvd, Building C, Las Vegas, NV 89106 to complete your application. At this time, you will be fingerprinted and photographed.
Where can I fill out the online Concealed Firearm Permit Application?
The online application can be found at the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department website at this link: Apply for a CCW Permit Online (lvmpd.com). Scroll to the bottom and click “Apply Online.”
Please note that you will still need to appear in person at the LVMPD Records & Fingerprint Bureau, 400 S Martin Luther King Blvd, Building C, Las Vegas, NV 89106 to complete your application. At this time, you will be fingerprinted and photographed.
When applying for a Concealed Firearm Permit, do I need to make an appointment with Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department ?
Walk-ins are now being accepted, but for faster service, appointments are recommended. You can make an appointment at this link: Appointment Scheduling (lvmpd.us)
How long does it take to obtain a Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit?
The required class is 8 hours. Once you have taken the class, you must apply in person to Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department. The state of Nevada is required by law to approve or deny your permit within 120 days of application.
When should I take the Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit Renewal Class? When should I apply for my Renewal?
You should take the Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit Renewal Class when you are within one year of your permits expiration date. You should apply in person to Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department a little more than 120 days prior to your permit expiration date to avoid having a “gap” of time where you cannot carry concealed.
My Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit is expired. Can I take the Renewal Class?
If your permit is expired less than 365 days, you may take the Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit Renewal class, which is 4 hours. If your permit is expired more than 365 days, you must take the full Nevada Concealed Carry class which is 8 hours.
If your permit is expired, you may not carry concealed.