Title: Valentine’s Weekend Special
Date: February 7, 2019
By Phillip Gain
Happy Valentine’s Day! Sign up for our February 16th Nevada Concealed Carry class and bring someone you care about for free! It can be your sweetheart, spouse, family member, literally anyone age 20 or over! Once you have signed up, send an email to email@example.com with the name of you and your companion.
Title: Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit Application Turnaround Time Update
Date: Feb 2, 2020
One of our students reported applying at LVMPD on October 15, 2019. His permit was issued on Feb 1, 2020. That is a turnaround time of 109 days, which is a bit longer than what we had previously been seeing.
By law, Nevada MUST approve or deny your application within 120 days. If the state takes longer than this, please let us know.
Title: Black and Armed in America
Date: February 9, 2019
by Colion Noir
For me, being black and armed in America is intellectually taxing. Add the fact that I am one of the most recognized gun rights advocates in the country, and it can be downright exhausting.
As a black man, some people expect me to say that being armed and black in America is dangerous. My whole life I’ve heard that a black man with a gun is always going to be considered a threat. I’ve also carried a gun for years and have been pulled over many times while carrying a gun with no problems—and I have no plans of stopping….
Title: “Where Can I Carry?”
Date: February 6, 2019
Here are some questions we’ve been getting lately:
“When I have a permit, in what states can I carry a firearm?”
“Is there a way I can carry in all 50 states?” (Spoiler alert – there is not!)
The answers to these questions are complicated, and always changing. There are two terms you should get familiar with:
1) Reciprocity: This is when two states enter into an agreement to recognize each other’s carry permits. Some states have no reciprocity agreements at all, while others have agreements with many other states. States with reciprocity agreements usually publish this information on their websites, but it isn’t always up-to-date.
2) Recognition: This is when a state allows you to carry using your own state’s permit. There may or may not be a reciprocity agreement in place. This is the more important term as far as the individual concealed carrier is concerned. “What states recognize my permit and give me a right to carry?”
The information below is a guide, but is not to be considered legal advice. It is current as of this writing as far as we were able to research, but is subject to change without notice. Firearms laws change often. Before you travel, be sure to thoroughly research the firearms laws in the states in which you intend to travel.
Thirty-one states recognize a resident Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit. These states are in blue on the map below:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Adding a nonresident Utah Concealed Firearm Permit gets you permission to carry concealed in a few more states. As of this writing, they are Delaware, Georgia, and Washington (WA not DC). That’s 34 states total.
If you wish to carry in the remaining states and territories, you must (for the most part) apply individually to each.
Some states, such as California and Colorado, do not issue permits to non-residents.
Other states, such as New York and New Jersey, are “may issue” states, and might require you to give “good reason” that you need the permit.
Washington, DC requires that you receive instruction from DC-certified instructors only.
No carry permits are issued in American Samoa or the Northern Mariana Islands (US territories.)
Finally, there are 9 states that have Constitutional Carry. This means no permit is required, and anyone who may legally own a gun may carry it openly or concealed: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, West Virginia, and Vermont.
Title: Utah Concealed Carry
Date: December 15, 2018
That was fast! I just received my Utah CCW Instructor Certification. Again, watch for Utah CCW courses coming in 2019!
Title: Utah Concealed Carry
Date: November 15, 2018
I just mailed out my Utah CCW Instructor Application. Watch for Utah Concealed Carry classes and add-ons coming in 2019!
Why would a Nevada resident need a Utah permit? After all, Nevada has reciprocity with Utah!
The answer: Having a nonresident Utah permit gets you reciprocity in additional states. For Nevada residents, those states are currently Washington, Georgia, and Delaware.
Reciprocity changes often, so be sure to check before you travel and carry!
Title: Wrapping Up for 2018!
Date: November 10, 2018
The November 23 New Shooter Clinic and November 24 Nevada Concealed Carry courses will be our last courses for 2018. There’s still space, so sign up now! Otherwise, Happy Holidays, and I hope to see you in class in 2019!